CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Help! Bring Food And A Crossbow!

2 Comments

OK here is the scene…I am down stairs at my L-shaped work table very engrossed in jewelry design….mind is not functioning for normal things and not aware of my surroundings. Peeps (my cat) has been visiting up and down the steps and exploring the basement where I am. So….I need a tool from the back shelf, roll my chair back to get it and all of a sudden am transported to a ‘slasher movie’ where the main antagonist is a killer, maniac cat. Peeps suddenly screeches, jumps my leg clawing madly and howling louder than a tomcat on the make!  She doesn’t stop but advances on me more, eyes wild and black as coal. It becomes obvious to me that I have hurt her terribly by rolling over some part of her (tail, paw, leg) and I am torn between sorrow at hurting my dear pet and terror for my life as she won’t quit howling. We are both trapped in the little space and every move I make seems to upset her more. I try calling my granddaughter (she has a key can get in and rescue me) but no answer, try another friend and he is tied up. By this time I am able to move slightly away and see that blood is streaming down my leg.  I go toward the stairs but the cat follows looking like a killer zombie cat hell bent on my destruction…so I move slowly up the steps as quick movements seem to upset her.  When I reach the top of the steps I am able to make a hasty retreat to my bathroom to wash the blood off my leg. I have peered out the door once and she is still stationed there, still glaring at me and still in a bad frame of mind. I want to check on her to see that nothing is broken although she was walking slowly she didn’t appear to be limping, so hopefully it was just her tail. Still…I want to comfort her but as I am the person who caused her pain it will probably be a long while before I can approach her.

Yep, I just glanced out and she is still outside my door….I wish I had thought to bring something to eat; it looks like it is going to be a long night….

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

2 thoughts on “Help! Bring Food And A Crossbow!

  1. Hahaha! OMG I had a friend whose mother had a very similar experience! The poor woman lived in terror of Sunshine the Psycho Cat!

    • Happily, Peeps is back to her old self today, which means she is aloof and snobby. She occasionally graces me with a leg brush and once consented to being pet. This was really all my fault; she’s lucky she still has a tail!

Leave a Reply

