CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Tales From The Weirdside…

Leave a comment

“Man lives in a sun-lit world of what he believes to be reality but there is unseen by most an underworld, a place that is just as real but not as brightly lit.  A Dark Side.”

I was visiting my friend yesterday and (as usual) we started talking about our phones…I got an HTC Thunderbolt and one week latter she caved and bought one also.  Of course, the app market is irresistible, especially the free apps.  When we get together, we update each other on the latest thing we have on the phone.  She whipped out her phone to show me her latest download-Ghost Radar Classic.  I realize this is not all that new, but for her it is, and for me as well.

Now let me start by saying that despite having a Catholic school upbringing for most of my formative years, I am a big sceptic as well as very cynical. However, I have experienced many things for which I have no explanation, ghostly apparitions being one of those things. So it was with tongue in cheek that I watched as she started the app and a small scope (like a ships radar) swept around the screen.  Occasionally a few blips of different colors showed up on the screen.  The color is supposed to indicate the intensity of the ‘spirit presence’.  Every now and then a word was voiced as well as appearing on the screen. I wasn’t too terribly impressed but thought it might be fun to play with as a parlour trick.  We downloaded it onto my phone and I left.

After finishing my grocery shopping and assorted errands I finally had time to relax.  Thinking about the phone I turned it on and set it on the table.  It started blipping immediately, and a word popped up. “Basket”-now anyone who knows me, knows that I am a Longaberger fan; in fact I had a basket under the table the phone was resting on.  OK, I figured it was just coincidence and let it go.  But as I sat there the oddest feeling came over me and I went into the kitchen, I just stood there staring at the sink for awhile wondering why I was there.  I picked up a scrubber and cleaning spray and scrubbed the sink realizing it really was dirty, as I was doing so I heard another word come up on the phone.  I walked over to see the word “look” come up and then immediately after “soil”.  Had I been sent into the kitchen to look at my soiled sink?  Hmmn a clean freak ghost….picking up my laptop I sat on the couch and ignored the phone.  All at once my cat streaked across in front of me, my line of sight partly obscured by my Mac. Curious as to what had her spooked I got up to look and there she was still sleeping behind me on the back of the couch.   While I stood there pondering out loud just what it was that I saw another word showed itself…“shadow.”  During the course of the evening other  words came up that were very germaine to what was going on around me.

That was when I decided to go on line and see just what the skinny was on this.  There were several sites that “debunked”  it, but no one really gave a good explanation for it. There was a lot of anecdotal evidence, however attesting to how well it worked. I came to the conclusion (on my own) that this must be some sophisticated government data gathering application.  If all our social network sites were being tapped it’s possible the words would be pulled from our conversations.  But then…that doesn’t really explain the incident with the cat unless they also have my house under camera surveillance as well!  But being the doubter that I am, figured it was a hoax, even if it is a clever one. I mean, after all I watch The Mentalist and I know tricks can look pretty persuasive.  About the time I stopped my research and figured it was all a ruse, the phone went deadly still, no blips, no words, no data coming in at all.  Throwing caution to the winds I said boldly to an empty room “Oh what’s the matter-got your feelings hurt did you?”  It stayed quiet the rest of the evening. I went to bed.  Without the phone.

In the morning I was talking to someone about my ex in laws, as my former MIL recently had surgery.  Earlier I had the phone on but was ignoring it.   All of a sudden it lit up again, and on the screen…the name of my former brother in law. Followed by a couple other words that were descriptive of him…nothing bad just accurate.  Again thinking that somehow this was all a result of too much facebook (and NO I wasn’t smoking anything funny or hitting the rum) I pretty much dismissed it.

And then shortly after that my granddaughter texted me, but I didn’t turn off the app- just switched the screen momentarily.  After I was finished texting I switched back to the radar. The proper noun popped up that floored me.  When my granddaughter was born I had wanted to give her a particular nickname but never did.  No one else knew of it, but always in the back of my mind that is how I thought of her.  So when the name “Sally” appeared on my screen I really had to rethink what this is all about.  I don’t want to believe it is true but…..

So if you have had any coincidences or occurrences please let me know, but in the meantime I am keeping an open mind.

“The Darkside is always looming, waiting for us to enter.  Waiting to enter us.  Until next time try to enjoy the daylight.”

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

