CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

What The Hey! Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Since all this verbiage comes from the same mind, I appropriated the title from my other blog Out Of Time Designs for both of my wednesday posts.  It will probably end up being a mish-mash of randomness, even more random than the usual flotsam and jetsam that floats between my ears, so here goes.

Today started out quietly enough, coffee and the morning emails, a shower and then…I walk into the living room and find the living room door wide open with the frigid air pouring in, making Duke Energy very happy.  My (indoor) cat was on the porch looking like she swallowed the canary, but luckily as I walked up to the door she realized she was in enemy territory and zipped back into the house.  After closing the door I yelled at the (big) kid who walked out and left the door open.  And then yelled at the cat for thinking she could go out without claws and a chaperone.

Next I walked into the guest powder room…a place I very rarely use, only to find that the arm connected to the flushing mechanism (toilet) is broken and no one has thought to tell me about it. Okaaay….put that on todays list.  Then I found I had to buy some price tags for the jewelry I was taking to consignment, so that meant a trip to Hobby Lobby, in the mall, at peak Christmas shopping time.  While I was patiently waiting for this older gentleman to pull out of his parking space it seemed I was apparently keeping someone much more important from her appointed rounds and she let me know about it.  So far I don’t like the way this day is going.  And the weather is cold, cloudy and dreary.

But thankfully, it turned itself around.  I found what I needed, got to the checkout and was waiting in line, wool-gathering when I heard someone talking about making snowglobes with the kids.  It took me back nearly 40 years and my mind wandered, thinking (with a smile) of past projects and little kids. I chatted with a couple other mothers in the two lanes and we compared projects.  Someone asked if I missed it and my instant answer was “Nope, now is MY time!”.  She looked at her daughter and  said that I sounded like her grandmother.  I was glad to have an ally, even if unseen, now I don’t feel so selfish about feeling that way.

So I left there went to the grocery, encountered an extreme couponer who said she has only been at it a month and she is getting tired. Honey, I get tired just cutting out the damn coupons, never mind the binder and saving papers from the whole Tri-State area!  But we had a nice chat and I left there with a smile.  I had a few other places to go (Home Depot and the consignment shop) and in both places I met people who made me smile. By the time I got back to my street the sun was shining again, and the day was back on track.

Now if only I could do something about those three tom-cats circling the house like sharks on a Sidney beach….

Happy What The Hey! Wednesday!

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

