CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Tradition!

Leave a comment

 I love Fiddler On The Roof, and I love having traditions.  When I was a kid my family had quite a few, but as I got older and then married it was harder to keep the traditions of my youth. Even though Tevya bent the traditions a bit for his girls he was still a believer that it is the glue that holds society together.  I totally agree with him and this could be a whole subject of itself. This post, however, is about the beginning of a new tradition that a friend is starting for her granddaughters, and to which I was invited last Sunday.

Patty (the grandmom) is a fun lady who never met a stranger.  She can talk to practically any person regardless of age or circumstance.  She manages a farm with her husband Jim, is active in her church, brings produce & family raised meats to several farmers markets, and runs her own business on the side.  Her granddaughters work in the business and have several friends who work there as well.  So Patty thought it would be fun to have a tea party to celebrate her granddaughters birthdays with “the girls”.  It was a nice mix of fun teen-age girls and adult ladies (also fun) so no one was left out.  Patty arranged the tea at the Parkview Country Inn,  located in the quaint town of Augusta, Ky.  They have a wonderful website with lovely pictures of the inn. I took a few of my own photos but to get the full effect you have to see it in person.

After we were seated we were served a bounty of treats by Phil, resplendent in a festive red shirt and Christmas tie;  his wife Jenny is the fantastic chef who whipped up our delicious treats.  I understand that in a ‘regular’ tea only 3-4 items are served but this tea consisted of nine different items!

The list follows with savory items being served first and then sweet:

Golden Coins Cheese Bites

Bistro Beef Bites

Ham Pinwheels

Turkey Salad Puffs

Orange Nutbread and Spread

Christmas Scone with strawberries and cream

Mini Cheesecakes with fresh raspberries

Lemon Curd Puff Pastries

Mini Apple Pies

We each had a pot of tea at our place setting and we served ourselves the tea.  As each new treat came out we oohed and awed over it, thinking surely that it couldn’t be topped.  Of course, everyone had their favorites, and mine were the wonderful Ham Pinwheels. I don’t know if I could tease the recipes from the cook but I did taste brown sugar, apple butter, and a hint of maple….yummy! The bite-size portions of the food fools you, and the taste tempted me back for seconds.  We all ate more than we realized and were drowsy and full before we knew it.  The talk was light and fun; mostly school and the coming holidays.    I thoroughly enjoyed myself and hope the younger generation did as well; hopefully they will continue this tradition allowing them to touch base as the years roll by.  Altogether it was a very pleasant and fun way to spend a rainy Sunday afternoon.

*While this is not the recipe for the Christmas Scones we were treated to, it would still be fun to bake these for the holidays.  Remember to serve with (real) whipped cream and strawberry preserves.

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

