CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments

Yeah, I know what you are saying.  Why does she have a picture of Superman on a Thanksgiving post?  Well, here goes-I am not doing the dinner this year, that torch has been passed on.  So instead of running around like a chicken turkey with its head lopped off I have lots of time to think about Thanksgivings past.  Stay with me as we visit a Thanksgiving very early in my  marriage.

It was the sixties, and while my husband and I were not one of the Great Unwashed, we were a bit more liberal in our clothing and hair styles, as well as our politics.  At the time I had not been handed the Holiday torch, so we went to his cousins home for dinner.  Even though we were in our late twenties we were stuck seated at the kids table (!).  I remember hearing the cousins wife mention, sotto voce, that [they] “certainly, weren’t like the rest of us”.  At the time it stung a bit, but then it was forgotten.

Years went by and that wife had children…as did the rest of us.  A few years back that particular cousins child was married, and the wedding and the reception was …unusual. Instead of the Wedding March strains of Star Wars heralded the bride.  And at the reception the bride made her entrance carried on the back of the groom, and the cake was cut with chainsaws.  In my late 50’s and well past the hippie stage at this point, I silently thought back to the Thanksgiving comment of the grooms mother, and smiled to myself.  Then the newlyweds finally had a child of their own.  And what did they name this grandchild of two very conservative grandparents? Kal-el, of course!  Now I know that movie stars and the products of  very small gene pools have been giving their kids weird names for a very long time.  But that is not what we are talking about here.  These are normal Midwestern Republicans that thought mini-skirts and shaggy hair were subversive.  Again upon hearing the news I silently reflected on this odd turn of events.

Now in my mid-sixties many Thanksgivings have come and gone.  Families have grown and split off into ever widening circles.   This year our family has changed significantly but we will still be gathering for dinner.  This time my grand daughter is hosting with her fiance, which will bring a whole new set of relatives into the stew stuffing.  I will get to sit back and watch how things unfold in this new family; musing about all the differences we share that really aren’t so different at all.   The fact is we are all trying to carve out our place in this world while still being tied to our roots.  And I feel it gets harder with each passing generation.

As I give thanks this year for the many blessings I have, I include the freedom to be as different (or not) as I want.  So with a nod to Kal-El and his grandparents, and a silent thanks that I was (and remain) my own person, I say Happy Thankgiving to all!

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. I wonder if I will be like that when I reach that age and time….hmmmm

  2. Wonderful story, thanks for sharing. (Did I mention that I love your writing? Yeah, probably did…)

Leave a Reply

