CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Don’t Waste Your Time?

3 Comments

         Recently I had a conversation with someone about a new craft product I was trying out.  I concluded that after a day long trial of said product I didn’t like it very much.  The person I was discussing this with asked “How much did it cost you to find out that you didn’t like it?”  With this person it was all about the money; the fact that I had spent x amount of money only to find out that I didn’t like or want what I bought.  To him it was a waste of money if I wasn’t happy with it, and by extension I should not have spent it in the first place.  The  question is-how do we know before hand.  I am not clairvoyant (and neither is this person who has wasted his share of money on bad ideas) so if we want to know we have to try.

If we all took the position of “wait and see” none of us would be using computers, driving cars, getting married or raising children. While driving and blogging have not been too traumatic for me, marriage and raising children has not been without its unique stresses.  I believe there is a reason that the universe does not allow us to see into the future.  If we knew that after investing a large part of our life in a relationship and having it turn and bite us in the butt, would we still invest time in that first kiss?  Would we as readily say, “Sure let’s meet for lunch!”  or take that spontaneous road trip?  Life would simply pass us by. And what a shame that would be;  experience can certainly be painful, no doubt. But who hasn’t heard all the platitudes about raindrops and rainbows-funny thing is they are true.  If I had seen into the future infidelities would I have even accepted that first kiss? Very doubtful…but I am glad I did because other than a kiss from one of my children it was a kiss without compare.  I would have one less sweet memory if I only did what I was sure would get a “return” on my investment of time.

I feel that the only true waste of time is when you have an experience (good or bad) and do not take the opportunity to learn from it.  When we ignore what life is trying to teach us because it may not have the ending we want, we are squandering our time as surely as our government squanders our tax dollars.  Are we going to fall along the way-most assuredly we will.   Are we going to royally screw up our lives and possibly many others as well?  Unfortunately some of us will.  But an even bigger loss is not acknowledging our mistakes, ignoring what the universe is trying to teach us and hiding our heads in the sand.  That is the true waste of our time and our lives.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Waste Your Time?

  1. Trisha Yearwood recorded a song “I Would Have Loved You Anyway”. It wasn’t popular, as songs go, but it is very beautiful. I kept thinking about that song as I read your post.

  2. time…life…hard to live as humans

Leave a Reply

