CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

To Everything Turn…

Leave a comment

Someone recently told me that fall was their least favorite time of the year. I on the other hand love fall, because for me it signifies potential. It is easy to love spring and summer, lush and easy, full of color that just smacks you in the face. Autumn is winding down, getting ready for a long winters nap. How is that potential you ask? It is in one of the things that I find interesting about this season…seeds! Even though most flowers are no longer blooming I have found lots of color in the autumnal landscape. Maybe not the riotous color we see in summer, but color that is nicely set off by the browns and tans that is the norm now. I went out for a walk today and captured some of what I love about this season.

So many of these specimens don’t bloom until now, but even if they did they would be hidden by the profusion of bloom that is summer. As you can see they delicately peek from the brown, dry leaves looking all the better for it. I found the same colors as I would find in the warmer weather, just applied with a lighter brush. Around each corner I found a new surprise, again highlighted by a subtle background.

Yes, this lovely daisy is a fall find, by the busy bee as well. And for me the mildness of the weather makes a walk in the woods much more pleasant.

So back to the potential of autumn-seeds! All winter long they will be sleeping, waiting for all that stored up energy to burst forth in spring. While they are still seeds we dream of what they will become when spring opens them up. I find that they are engaging on their own, if not for the color, for the variety of shapes.

Just like the flowers that produced them they are in turn delicate or chunky, some even feathery like the milk weed pods that grew around my childhood home.

Autumn also brings the return of the school year, so that my walks are quiet and reflective. Kids are fun to watch but when I want to think and ponder of all the potential being stored away by this gentle season, a secluded bench is just the place to sit.

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

