CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Comfort Zone at 65 and Beyond

Leave a comment

 

Comfort zones, like rules, should be stepped out of every now and then. At 64 (my ‘date’ is 71) I believe I did that this week-end by attending the MidPoint Music Festival.  When I was much younger (with children) I loved the ‘old music’ of the sixties and really hated some of the 70-80’s music that was out there. I stayed stuck in that until my….wait for it….deaf…granddaughter started turning me onto more current stuff. I am not trying to turn back the clock to my teen years but I am not going to ossify any sooner than I have to either.

So here we were my date and I, surrounded by a veritable sea of emo, angst and lots of  black hair dye. I missed woodstock, sadly because I had just started a new job. Unfortunately, or fortunately for the city, this was not like it. No peace and love, even though the ticket girl was very friendly. If there were drugs no one offered me any (not that I wanted it), who knows I might be a narc. So since we had no clue about indie music we decided to pick a venue and que up. We picked the Blue Wisp since we are both familiar with it from more sedate evenings out. The line-up was The Kentucky Struts, Jason Ludwig, Tara Priya, and lastly the Skeetones.  The Skeetones came on at midnight so we listened to one song and then drug our weary butts home.  I really enjoyed the Struts, even though date-guy kept saying “They don’t sound country…” and Tara Priya has a wonderful, big voice in a tiny body. She had quite a following. Jason, I’m sorry but my age showed during your set (not that anyone noticed), but I can’t relate to lyrics about mom shutting the “f” up. I listened but was glad my hearing is starting to go!

So that was my little bit of envelope pushing this week-end. I think I am set now for awhile. And while I don’t think I will go next year, still I am glad I made myself get out of the zone for a bit. I got home after 1 am and my grand daughter had a chuckle over that, “You’re like teen-agers granmama!”  Oh, if only!

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

