CLOSING TIME ~ OUT OF TIME DESIGNS

….COMBINING LIFE AND ART

Rainy Friday

Leave a comment

Typical fall weather in Cincinnati….rainy, dreary and chilly.  Since I spent a large part of yesterday cleaning, sorting and in general “working” today is going to be a little more laid-back. I’m thinking tea and a good book on the porch so I can enjoy the good parts of this weather-listening to the rain patter on the roof, the subtle sounds of dripping trees and the muted chirps of the birds. Once in awhile we need to recharge, regroup and RELAX!  Actually, confession time, I am probably too good at that so I am trying to learn balance here.

One project I have been putting off for far too long is sorting through my books, and today would be a perfect day for it. I am an avid book collector, not a gourmet so much as a gourmand.  At certain points in my life I tend to buy way more  reading material than I should. A lot of it has proven to be dreck (not the books in my pic) or it is duplicated somewhere else in my library cluttering up my shelf. So periodically (no pun intended) I sort through my shelves, weed out and donate my unwanted books. Some one else may glean a nugget that I haven’t and it is hard to just throw books out. I hear gasps of horror from those who would never throw out a book, but tell me what would you do with an instruction manual for Photoshop (circa 2001) and I own a Mac?

So off I go to the library, better known as my basement, and as I sort I will take armfuls to the porch to re-read in the soft drizzle that has been falling all morning. Perhaps I will re-discover a few nuggets of my own.

Author: K.L.Richardson

As a child I loved fantasy play, reading about and creating a world that was eons away from the present. for a brief time as an adult I had to "grow up" and attend to duties as a wife and mother. Now the children are grown, the husband gone and it is time for me. I have once again entered that fantasy world to write and create for myself and others if they choose to partake of the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

